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Guideline Goals
The goal of developing this document is to provide guidelines for pediatric diagnostic services that recognize the diversity of individuals and families. These guidelines have been developed specifically for audiological diagnostic services provided to children from birth-36 months of age. This is a companion document to the previously created Louisiana Hospital Guidelines for Newborn Infant Hearing Screening Programs (2002).

In April 2002, universal newborn hearing screening became a legal mandate in the State of Louisiana. This has meant a significant difference in the scope of practice of audiologists who were providing services to the pediatric population. Now a growing and challenging percentage of caseloads will include many more newborns and young infants. Working with children 0-3 years of age requires special skills, experiences, and equipment to assure the early identification efforts successfully result in optimal outcomes for children who are deaf and hard of hearing and their families. 

Audiologists who are not able to provide these services, due to lack of skill, experience, or equipment are ethically obligated by the Louisiana Board of Examiners in Speech Pathology and Audiology Ethics Guidelines to refer families to facilities where the needed services can be obtained. 

A well-organized and professional early hearing detection and intervention system can make a significant difference in the lives of children who are deaf or hard of hearing and their families. We hope these guidelines can act as a tool to providing the best services possible. 

These guidelines are intended for audiologists who serve infants and young children suspected of having hearing loss. Given the necessity and importance of multi-disciplinary service providers for children and their families, other stakeholders may benefit from these assessment guidelines in the context of early detection and intervention program development.

Who developed the guidelines

The guidelines on the following pages were developed by a committee of audiologists from the state of Louisiana facilitated by Dr. Linda Hood of the Kresge Hearing Research Laboratory at LSU Health Sciences Center in New Orleans and the Department of Health and Hospitals/ Office of Public Health “Sound Start” EHDI Program in collaboration with the Louisiana State Advisory Council on Infant Hearing. 

These guidelines are based on the DHH rules and regulations developed to accompany Louisiana Act 653 of 1999 Universal Newborn Screening Legislation. Funding was provided in part by grants from the Maternal and Child Health Bureau and Center for Disease Control and Prevention. 

Louisiana ACT 653 Requirements    R.S. 46:2261-2267
Universal Newborn Hearing Screening Law of 1999

Hospital screening and referral mandates:

· By April 1, 2002 all birthing hospitals must perform a physiologic hearing screening (either OAE or ABR) on every infant before hospital discharge.

· Each hospital must report the results of the screening test to the Office of Public Health, primary care physician, and parents within 14 days.

· Infants who do not pass the screening must be referred within 7 days of discharge to the primary care physician and to a licensed audiologist for follow-up rescreening.  

· The Office of Public Health shall establish appropriate protocols and standards for diagnostic evaluations to determine hearing loss.

     (Contained within this document)

· The Office of Public Health will develop a system for reporting diagnosis of hearing loss by primary health care providers, audiologists, and parents for children up to age five years.  (See Follow-up Services Report Form in appendix)

· Infants and children with diagnosed hearing loss shall be referred to appropriate agencies for rehabilitation and education services with parent/caregiver consent. 

· For infants and toddlers up to age three with diagnosed hearing loss, referral to EarlySteps Program (Louisiana’s Part C Program) shall be made for early intervention services within 48 hours of diagnosis.

          (See appendix for list of EarlySteps System Points of Entry (SPOE) 

Hospital screening recommendations:

· In-hospital screening should include at least 2 and not more than 4 initial screening attempts prior to discharge from the hospital.

· Screening at least twice will reduce the number of infants referred for further testing. Each screening should be separated in time by several hours to allow vernix and debris to clear from the ear. It is not recommended to perform back-to-back testing unless a technical error is suspected. 

· Testing more than four times may have the effect of passing a baby with hearing loss who by chance might statistically pass one out of many tests. Most screening devices don’t keep a history of trials (for example- a hearing-impaired infant who fails 9 trials but passes the 10th will still pass on a screening device, yet it is very unlikely that this child has normal hearing)

Infants failing the newborn screening are to be referred for follow-up testing (rescreening) as soon as possible. Requirements for rescreening will be included in Louisiana Hospitals’ Universal Newborn Hearing Screening Guidelines Version 2. 

If the infant FAILS the rescreening testing:

·  The rescreening audiologist or physician should help the parents to make arrangements for the diagnostic testing at that time.
· It is recommended the child and family leave the office with an appointment for the diagnostic testing if testing cannot be performed during the same visit or at the same site as the rescreening. 
· Appropriately credentialed and qualified audiologists who possess a valid state license should perform follow-up diagnostics. 
· Diagnostic testing should take place as soon as possible. Diagnosis and evaluation of the type and degree of hearing loss should be completed by the time the child is 3 months of age.  

· If a child is suspected of having a hearing loss, the parents may be directed to Early Steps, the Parent-Pupil Education Program, or other early intervention programs at this point to make sure they are not lost to follow-up. 


Evaluation of Newborns and Infants

0-6 Months of Age
Audiological Diagnostic Assessment Protocol

To be considered a diagnostic procedure ear specific estimates of type, degree, and configuration of the hearing must be obtained. This differs from a simple screening.
Adequate confirmation of an infant’s hearing status cannot be obtained from a single test measure; rather the initial test battery must include physiologic measures and, if possible, developmentally appropriate behavioral techniques.

1.  Detailed history should include but is not limited to:

a. Parental report of auditory and visual behaviors

b. Motor development

c. Family history of hearing loss

d. History of middle ear pathologies

e. Parental concerns

f. Prenatal, birth, and neonatal history 

g. Medical history including:

Syndromes or other inheritable conditions, craniofacial anomalies, kidney issues, conditions of limbs/digits, pigmentation issues, exposure to ototoxic medications

2. Otoscopy- 
Ensure that there are no contraindications to placing an earphone or probe in the ear canal. Visual inspection for obvious structural abnormalities of the pinna and ear canal should be included. 

3. Evoked Otoacoustic Emissions- 
Either Transient or Distortion Products Emissions are acceptable.

TEOAE click stimuli: One level (e.g., 80-85 dB pSPL) should be completed.

DPOAE stimuli: Use L1/L2 of 65/55 dB SPL. 

Pass criterion: An emission of 6 dB signal to noise ratio for at least three frequencies in each ear. At least one passing frequency should be located between 1000 and 2000 Hz and at least one other passing frequency should be located between 3000 and 4000 Hz. The third point could be at any other frequency between 1000 Hz and 6000 Hz.

4. Acoustic Immitance testing

a. Tympanometry - 660 Hz or higher probe tone

b. Acoustic Reflex- Ipsilateral middle ear muscle reflex thresholds for 500, 1000, 2000, and 4000 Hz. Contralateral reflex thresholds are also valuable and should be obtained whenever possible.

Pass criterion: Type A tympanogram, present acoustic reflexes.
5. Diagnostic Auditory Evoked Potential Testing (Non-sedated)
At minimum includes clicks and toneburst testing.
a. ABR to air-conducted clicks:

Diagnostic testing at minimum should include Wave V latency-intensity function responses to at least three differing intensity levels ending with at least one tracing at or below threshold.
Pass Criterion: Normal results consist of Wave V responses for clicks at 25 dB nHL within a normal absolute latency range for the child’s gestational age.  
Suprathreshold click testing should also include one average with condensation clicks and another average at the same intensity with rarefaction clicks to rule-out auditory neuropathy/dys-synchrony.  

If all waveforms in the tracings invert that represents the presence of the cochlear microphonic (CM) with no neural response.  Clicks at each polarity should then be tested at additional intensities and if only the CM is observed, that is consistent with auditory neuropathy/dys-synchrony. Even though the ABR is abnormal, in this case toneburst testing is not necessary, as it will not yield any additional information.   

b.  ABR to tonebursts:

In order to obtain more frequency-specific information, ABR stimuli should include a low frequency toneburst (500 or 250 Hz air-conducted tonebursts) in combination with clicks. 

Preferably, both low and high frequency tonebursts could be used in place of clicks (such as 500 Hz and 2000 Hz, or 500 Hz and 4000 Hz) for even greater specificity.  If time permits, toneburst thresholds could even be obtained for stimuli at all 500, 1000, 2000 and 4000 Hz.

Diagnostic testing at minimum should include Wave V latency-intensity function responses to at least three differing intensity levels ending with at least one tracing at or below threshold. 

Pass Criterion: Normal results would consist of Wave V responses at 25 dB nHL for higher frequencies and 35 dB nHL at lower frequencies.

     IF CONDUCTIVE HEARING LOSS is suspected, testing must also include:

c. Bone conduction ABR:

Stimuli should be bone-conducted clicks; masking of the non-test ear should be applied, as appropriate.
Diagnostic testing should include Wave V latency-intensity function responses to at least three differing intensity levels ending with one tracing below threshold. 

Pass Criterion: Normal results would consist of Wave V responses at 25dB.

Audiological Assessment Checklist        Birth to 6 months of age

Patient Name: ________________________________ Date of Test: ______________________

Date of Birth: _________________________________ Age: ____________________________

Positive Medical History/Risk Factors: _______________________________________________________________________________

_____

	Test Procedure
	Date completed
	Left ear results
	Right ear results

	 Otoscopic Examination


	
	
	

	  Tympanometry

 (Probe frequency _____Hz)


	
	Type_______
	Type_______

	  Acoustic Reflexes 

  Ipsilateral  

  500, 1000, 2000, 4000 Hz
	
	Present/Absent


	Present/Absent



	  Acoustic Reflexes 

  Contralateral  

  500, 1000, 2000, 4000 Hz 
	
	Present/Absent
	Present/Absent

	  Otoacoustic Emissions


	
	Present/Absent
	Present/Absent

	      Diagnostic ABR:

     Air-conducted click 

  
	
	Wave V threshold

        dB nHL
	Wave V threshold

        dB nHL

	     Check for dys-synchrony:

     Changing click polarity 

     from rarefaction to condensation

     caused waveforms to invert 
       
	
	Yes (abnormal)

No   (normal)
	 Yes

  No

	      Toneburst ABR:

       Low freq   ______ Hz


	
	Wave V threshold

        dB nHL
	Wave V threshold

        dB nHL

	      Toneburst ABR:

       Additional freq  ______ Hz


	
	Wave V threshold

        dB nHL
	Wave V threshold

        dB nHL

	      Bone-Conduction ABR


	
	Wave V threshold

        dB nHL
	Wave V threshold

        dB nHL


Evaluation of Infants and Children

6 months to 3 years of age

Audiological Diagnostic Assessment

1. Detailed history- including but not limited to:

a. Parental report of auditory and visual behaviors

b. Motor development

c. Family history of hearing loss

d. History of middle ear pathologies

e. Parental concerns

f. Prenatal, birth, and neonatal history 

g. Medical history including:

Syndromes or other inheritable conditions, craniofacial anomalies, kidney issues, conditions of limbs/digits, pigmentation issues, exposure to ototoxic medications   

2. Otoscopy-
Ensure that there are no contraindications to placing an earphone or probe in the ear canal. Visual inspection for obvious structural abnormalities of the pinna and ear canal should be included.


3.  Evoked Otoacoustic Emissions- Transients or Distortion Products
TEOAE click stimuli: One level (e.g., 80-85 dB pSPL) should be completed.

DPOAE stimuli: Use L1/L2 of 65/55 dB SPL. 

Pass criterion: Emission of 6 dB signal to noise ratio for at least three frequencies in each ear. At least one passing frequency should be located between 1 and 2 KHz and at least one other passing frequency should be located between 3 and 4 KHz. The third point can be in any frequency between 1 KHz and 6 KHz.

4. Acoustic Immitance Testing
a. Tympanometry - 660 Hz or higher probe tone in children under

18 months, 220 Hz children 18-36 months.
b. Acoustic Reflex- Ipsilateral middle ear muscle reflex thresholds for 500, 1000, 2000, and 4000. Contralateral reflex thresholds are also valuable and should be obtained whenever possible.
Pass Criterion: Type A tympanogram and present acoustic reflexes.
5. Behavioral Observation Audiometry (BOA) 

In soundfield or with earphones using calibrated stimuli 

Pass criterion: minimal and/or startle response at 65 dB.

6. Visual Reinforcement Audiometry (VRA)

Stimuli should be speech and frequency specific tones between 250-6000 Hz. Insert earphones are preferable; soundfield may be necessary with some children. 

           Pass Criterion: 20 dB to speech and 500, 1000, 2000, and 4000 Hz. 

If any of the results are ABNORMAL, testing should also include:

7. Diagnostic Auditory Evoked Potential Testing

At minimum includes clicks and toneburst testing. Often the use of sedation is necessary to obtain adequate responses.

a. ABR to air-conducted clicks:

Diagnostic testing at minimum should include Wave V latency-intensity function responses to at least three differing intensity levels ending with at least one tracing at or below threshold.
Pass Criterion: Normal results would consist of Wave V responses for clicks at 25 dB nHL within a normal absolute latency range for the child’s age.  
Suprathreshold click testing should also include one average with condensation clicks and another average at the same intensity with rarefaction clicks to rule-out auditory neuropathy/dys-synchrony.  

If all waveforms in the tracings invert that represents the presence of the cochlear microphonic (CM) with no neural response.  Clicks at each polarity should then be tested at additional intensities. If only the CM is observed, that is consistent with auditory neuropathy/dys-synchrony. Even though the ABR is abnormal, in this case toneburst testing is not necessary, as it will not yield any additional information.   

b.  ABR to tonebursts:

In order to obtain more frequency-specific information, ABR stimuli should include a low frequency toneburst (500 or 250 Hz air-conducted tonebursts) in combination with clicks. 

Preferably, both low and high frequency tonebursts could be used in place of clicks (such as 500 Hz and 2000 Hz, or 500 Hz and 4000 Hz) for even greater specificity.  If time permits, toneburst thresholds could even be obtained for stimuli at all 500, 1000, 2000 and 4000 Hz.

Diagnostic testing at minimum should include Wave V latency-intensity function responses to at least three differing intensity levels ending with at least one tracing at or below threshold. 

Pass Criterion: Normal results would consist of Wave V responses at 25 dB nHL for higher frequencies and 35 dB nHL at lower frequencies.

  IF CONDUCTIVE HEARING LOSS is suspected, testing must also include:

c.  Bone Conduction ABR:

Stimuli should be bone-conducted clicks; masking of the non-test ear should be applied, as appropriate.
Diagnostic testing should include Wave V latency-intensity function responses to at least three differing intensity levels ending with one tracing below threshold. 

Pass Criterion: Normal results would consist of Wave V responses at 25dB.

Audiological Assessment Checklist              6 months to 3 years of age

Patient Name: ________________________________________ Date of Test: _______________

Date of Birth: ________________________________________ Age: ______________________

Positive Medical History/Risk Factors: ________________________________________________
	Test Procedure
	Date completed
	Left ear results
	Right ear results

	Otoscopic Examination


	
	
	

	Tympanometry

(Probe frequency _____Hz)


	
	Type_______
	Type_______

	Acoustic Reflexes
Ipsilateral

500, 1000, 2000, 4000 Hz
	
	Present/Absent


	Present/Absent



	Acoustic Reflexes
Contralateral

500, 1000, 2000, 4000 Hz
	
	Present/Absent
	Present/Absent

	Otoacoustic Emissions
	
	Present/Absent
	Present/Absent

	Behavioral Observation

Audiometry

Startle at 65 dB
	 
	Present/Absent
	Present/Absent

	Visual Reinforced Audiometry

Sound Field/ Earphones
	
	500____  1K _____

2K ____   4K _____

Speech ______ dB
	500____  1K _____

2K ____   4K _____

Speech ______ dB

	Diagnostic ABR:
	
	
	

	Air-conducted click


	
	Wave V threshold

        dB nHL
	Wave V threshold

        dB nHL

	Check for dys- synchrony

Changing click polarity from

rarefaction to condensation

caused waveforms to invert
	
	Yes (abnormal)

No   (normal)
	  Yes

   No

	Toneburst ABR

Low freq   ______ Hz


	
	Wave V threshold

        dB nHL
	Wave V threshold

        dB nHL

	Bone-Conduction ABR


	
	Wave V threshold

        dB nHL
	Wave V threshold

        dB nHL


Use of Sedation in the Evaluation Process

No child, especially those under the age of six months of age, should be given medication to sedate for testing unless absolutely necessary. Sedating merely for convenience or to speed testing time in a busy clinic schedule is neither ethical audiological practice nor good medical practice. Most normally developing children from birth to 6 months of age can be tested using sleep deprivation and other techniques to induce natural sleep. 

The standard is to begin with less medically invasive procedures (i.e. behavioral) and move to more complex procedures (i.e. electrophysiological) requiring or including the use of sedation only when deemed necessary to complete the evaluation.

Children 6 months and older or children with complex medical conditions may need to be sedated to complete necessary diagnostic procedures when behavioral audiology is inappropriate due to the child’s age or other limitations or attempts at behavioral testing have been made with no success. Conscious sedation is recommended over deep sedation whenever possible. 

Administering the sedation and discharging patients after the procedure is not within the scope of practice of the audiologist. 

Both the Louisiana Board of Examiners and the American Speech-Language-Hearing Association have adopted standards for the procedural use of sedation for speech pathology and audiology. Audiologists involved with sedation should be knowledgeable of these position statements. A copy can be found at the end of this document in Appendix C.

Follow-up Recommendations and Strategies

1. EarlySteps (Louisiana’s Part C Program) must be contacted within 48 hours. They will help the parents chose appropriate intervention agencies and services. (See appendix A for EarlySteps contacts)

2. Parent-Pupil Education Program should be contacted as soon as 

possible to begin immediate work with the family even before amplification and intervention begin. This statewide program is provided to families of children with any type or degree of loss. A regional parent advisor will contact the family immediately. There is no cost to the parents for this program. Referrals can be made by contacting regional parent advisors. (See appendix A for contacts)
3. Department of Health and Hospitals should be contacted by way of the Follow-up Form within 14 days.

4. Amplification needs to be purchased and fitted on the infant by 3 months 

     of age. 

5. Early Intervention services should begin by 6 months of age.

If the infant is lost to follow-up and cannot be found to complete diagnostics or amplification:

Complete and submit the DHH follow-up form on the infant with as much contact information as possible:

· Make comments on the attempts that have been made in the past and where the child stands in the evaluation process. 

·  Any additional phone numbers, addresses, etc. are helpful. 

· Make sure you have the child’s correct full name as printed on the birth certificate, the mother’s maiden name and date of birth. 

Children At-risk for Progressive Hearing Loss
Considerations for managing babies with risk factors for late onset or progressive hearing loss is extremely important. These measures must include: 

· Regular audiologic monitoring every 6 months until the child reaches at least 3 years old. 
· Ensuring that families receive informational materials that discuss major milestones in normal speech and language development and risk factors for hearing loss in their native language.

· Ensuring that families of infants “at-risk” receive information on late-onset or progressive hearing loss as well as local diagnostic resource centers.

Current Risk Factors for Progressive Hearing Loss

(Joint Committee on Infant Hearing Position Statement, 2000)

1. Parental or caregiver concern regarding hearing, speech, language, or developmental delay.

2. Family history of permanent childhood hearing loss. If a blood relative of the infant had a permanent hearing loss from birth or which began in early childhood and required a hearing aid or special schooling for the hearing-impaired. This DOES NOT include hearing loss due to illness, ear infections, or aging.

3. Diagnosis of Neurodegenerative disorders, such as Hunter’s syndrome, Neurofibromatosis, Myoclonic Epilepsy, Werdnig-Hoffman Disease, Tay-Sach’s Disease, Infantile Gaucher’s Disease, Niemann-Pick Disease, and Metachromatic Leukodystrophy or any Infantile Demyelinating Neuropathy.

4. Diagnosis of Congenital (in utero) infections such as Cytomegalovirus (CMV), Neonatal Herpes, Rubella, Syphilis, Epstein-Barr Virus, HIV, or Toxoplasmosis.

5. Use of Prolonged Mechanical Ventilation if the infant had mechanical ventilation for 5 days or greater, persistent pulmonary hypertension of the newborn associated with mechanical ventilation, persistent fetal circulation, or a condition requiring use of extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO).

6. Use of Ototoxic Drugs for more than 5 days including but not limited to aminoglycocides (gentamicin, tobramycin, kanamycin, streptomycin) especially in combination with loop diuretics.  

The following list includes other suggested risk factors that are not listed in the JCIH document as being high-risk for hearing loss alone. These should be considered on a case-by-case basis:

· Cranio-facial anomalies, including morphologic abnormalities of pinna and ear canal

· Hyperbilirubinemia requiring exchange blood transfusion

· Birth weight less than 1500 grams

· Extreme prematurity

· Postnatal infections associated with sensorineural hearing loss including bacterial meningitis

· Low APGAR scores or 0-3 at one minute, 0-6 at five minutes of age

· Physical features of other stigmata associated with syndrome known to include hearing loss (Down Syndrome, Waardenburg)

· Recurrent or persistent otitis media with effusion for at least three months

· Noise exposure

· All children identified with risk factors for hearing loss should be closely monitored. DHH follow-up forms should be submitted on each child during the monitoring even if the hearing remains within normal limits. 

Amplification for Infants and Children

Birth- 3 years

Pediatric Referral for Amplification:

a. Should definitely be made for infants and children when the pure tone average or high frequency pure tone average is greater than 25 dB HL in at least one ear.

b. Should be considered when the pure tone average of either ear is greater than 15 dB HL and the child is exhibiting speech and language difficulties due to fluctuating or mild hearing loss.
Amplification/Hearing Aid fitting Guidelines

a. Age appropriate hearing aid fitting formulas (such as DSL) should be used.  

b. Real ear verification should be performed. 

c. Behavioral verification if age appropriate is also recommended.

Minimum Requirements for Fitting Pediatric Patients

a. Real Ear measurement capabilities should be available for children under 3 years of age.

b. Sound Field and VRA capabilities should be also be available for older children for age appropriate testing.

Pediatric Referral for Cochlear Implant
a. Is appropriate for children over 12 months of age with profound bilateral sensorineural hearing loss.

b. May be considered for children 12 months and older with severe bilateral sensorineural hearing loss who are not developing speech and language skills on target after attempting conventional hearing aid use. 

c. May be considered for children 12 months and older diagnosed with auditory neuropathy/dys-synchrony who are not developing speech and language skills on target. A hearing aid trial in patients with AN/AD is optional.
Reporting Results and Tracking
1. These retest results must be reported to the Department of Health on the Follow-up Form within 14 days  (see Appendix B for copy of follow-up form):

a. Rescreening or diagnostic testing results on all infants who failed a hospital newborn hearing screening even if the results are normal.
b. Rescreening or diagnostic testing results on all infants who never had a hospital newborn hearing screening even if the results are normal.
c. Any child who failed to keep their rescreening or diagnostic testing appointments and who are lost to follow-up. It is recommended that at least two attempts be made to schedule the patient for follow-up testing before reporting them as lost to follow-up. Communication should be made by at least two different methods before giving up (i.e.: telephone contact and mail contact).
d. All results on any child ages birth-5 years of age identified with a hearing loss for the first time. 

e. All results on any child birth- 5 years of age fitted with a hearing aid or cochlear implant for the first time.

f.  Current testing results on children birth-5 years who are being monitored for progressive hearing loss each time they are tested.
2. According to Federal Law IDEA- 

All children diagnosed with a hearing loss must also be referred to the DHH EarlySteps Program within 48 hours of diagnosis.  Once contacted, parents may then choose to accept or decline the early intervention services. There is no cost to parents for this service. (See Appendix A)

3. It is also strongly recommended:

a. All children birth-3 years identified with hearing loss also be referred to an early intervention program as soon as possible. 
b. The only statewide program, the Parent-Pupil Education Program is currently a cost-free program provided to families of children with any type or degree of either bilateral or unilateral hearing lossd. A regional parent advisor, who is a professional teacher specializing in the education of young children with hearing loss, will contact the families immediately. The parent advisor can work with the family from the first day of suspected hearing loss, and can continue working with the family until the child reaches 3 years of age or older if needed (See Appendix A).
Follow-up and Reporting Checklist

Patient Name:                                                              Date: _______________      

Date of Birth ________________________________Age: _______________

	Follow-up checklist

Infants and children diagnosed with hearing loss should receive follow-up appointments as soon as possible. The goal is to complete diagnostics by 3 months of age and to fit amplification and to be enrolled in Early Intervention by 6 months of age. 


	Date completed
	To Whom

	DHH Follow-up Form completed and sent to Hearing, Speech, Vision Program (within 14 days of evaluation)


	
	

	Referral to EarlySteps (Part C program) made within 48 hours 


	
	

	Referral to Genetics discussed


	
	

	Referral to Otolaryngology 


	
	

	 Referral to Parent-Pupil Education 

 
	
	

	 Referral for further Audiological testing 

   
	
	

	 Referral for Hearing Aid evaluation


	
	

	 Referral for Cochlear Implant


	
	

	 Referral for Speech/Language Evaluation


	
	

	 Copy given to parents


	
	

	 Copy sent to Primary Care Physician


	
	


Strategies to Improve Follow-up

All programs should strive to rescreen 100% of the babies who fail newborn hearing screening. Unfortunately, the national follow-up rates to date approximate only 75%. Further efforts need to be made to improve the number of babies that return for follow-up.  Some ways that have been found to improve follow-up rates include:

1. Lower your refer rates. The fewer the babies that fail the screening, the more time and effort can be spent on finding and testing those babies. High initial screening referral rates are not efficient at locating the few infants really needing the follow-up services. Parents and physicians do not take referrals seriously if a high percentage of infants always fail initial testing. State mandates include a referral rate of less than 4% of all infants tested at each birthing facility.
2. Insure that the parents understand the meaning of the screening results and when and where to go for rescreening.

The more information the parents receive the better but the information needs to be in both verbal and written forms and presented at the language level of the parent. Review your information that you give the parents. Research has shown the average reading level of parents in Louisiana is on a fourth grade level.  Avoid too many medical terms or high level language, leave lots of white space and use pictures if possible on brochures and pamphlets.

The Department of Health has a brochure available on request to use when discussing abnormal results with parents.

Foreign speaking parents need to have information given in their native language if possible. Foreign language pamphlets are available from ASHA and are in process at this time in Louisiana. 

Consider instructing parents about the hearing screening before the baby is even born by including the information in pre-natal classes. The Dept. of Health has developed a brochure to be used in prenatal classes which can obtained by phone or downloaded off the website.
3. Ensure that the parent understands whom to contact with further questions. By law, the hearing-screening supervisor is to be available by phone while hearing screening is being performed. If a child does not pass the screening, the supervisor’s phone number should be made available to the parents to answer any questions or concerns they might have.
4. Establish the outpatient rescreening appointment at the time of the hospital screening failure. This may mean having the parent choose an audiologist for follow-up while in the hospital. The discharge nurse or other designated person should call and make the appointment so that the parent leaves the hospital with appointment and instructions in hand. Parents should never leave the hospital with just a list of names or just being told to seek further testing on their own. Many hospitals are performing rescreening on-site by the audiologist supervisor within 2 weeks of discharge. This often is the best solution for poor follow-up rates; research has shown that parents will better attend appointments at a facility in which they are comfortable and familiar. When parents then leave the hospital with an appointment to return to the nursery or a site close by in the hospital it helps relieve some parental anxiety.
5. Get accurate and multiple contact information. Many parents are difficult if not impossible to contact by phone. Alternate numbers and addresses often help.
6. Schedule the next test within at least 2-4 weeks, sooner if possible.   The longer a parent has to wait to attend a follow-up appointment, the poorer the chance they will return. Mother’s often return to work within 6 weeks and appointments are more difficult for them to attend during working hours.
7. Coordinate appointments with other medical appointments if possible. Transportation problems are often the reason for poor follow-up. Coordinating appointments can often help parents get their child retested as well as having pediatric check-ups or lab procedures.
8. Be sure to know the infant’s primary care provider. Many infants do not return to see the physician listed on their hospital documents especially if they are Medicaid eligible and are assigned a pediatrician after discharge. Ask the parent if they know whom they will be requesting as their child’s physician or who they are currently seeing.
9. Provide the medical home with information on follow-up appointments, especially if parents do not keep initial appointment. 

The medical home can facilitate and encourage the parents to keep the hearing rescreening appointment but only if they know that the parents are not keeping the appointments with you.

10. Vary your method of communication.  Some parents respond better to written reminders, others to personal phone calls.

11. Be Persistent- the more attempts the better the chance of follow-up being completed. Schedule the infant for more than one appointment. New parents are often overwhelmed or still medically recovering from birth. It may take two appointments before the child is rescreened. Use two different methods to contact parents, don’t continue to just send letters, try a telephone contact.
12. Work with health plans to cover testing. If the testing is not covered by insurance, the probability the child will return for rescreening is less. Medicaid does cover infant hearing testing in the state of Louisiana.
13. Improve awareness of early hearing detection and intervention in the community. Parents who have some knowledge of deafness or who are more educated in the process of hearing screening will return more often for follow-up testing. Consider sponsoring events or publicity, which highlight issues of deafness and hearing screening in your community.
14. Collaborate with several agencies to monitor follow-up collectively.  Infants who might be lost to follow-up due to disconnected phones and/or changes in address may be found through collaborating with other agencies such WIC, EarlySteps, or parish health units. 
Screening newborns before hospital discharge is the first step in early hearing detection and intervention success. The goal for follow up is:     1-3-6


 Before 1 month old:


         Identify those newborns needing further assessment





By 3 months old:


          Complete an appropriate audiological assessment





Before 6 months old:


         Fit amplification and begin early intervention services





Children who follow these timelines have been shown to have significantly higher speech and language skills than those later identified children.
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